Fatwa: # 44189
Category: Jurisprudence and Rulings...
Country:
Date: 14th February 2020

Title

Is Rosemary extract Halaal?

Question

Asalamu alaykum

 

Is Rosemary extract Halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Rosemary extract is produced from ground dried rosemary leaves using one of two extraction solvents, food-grade ethanol or acetone. The resulting mixture is separated from the dried leaves by concentration and/or precipitation.[1]

Ethanol is from two types of sources.

1)    Ethanol produced from dates and grapes. It is Haram to consume rosemary extract containing such ethanol irrespective of the amount.

2)    Ethanol produced from other than dates and grapes. It is Halal to consume rosemary extract containing such ethanol with the condition that it does not intoxicate nor it is consumed for amusement. [2]

Acetone is a colorless volatile liquid ketone made by oxidizing isopropanol, used as an organic solvent and synthetic reagent. Acetone is safe in normal amounts, but too much of it could be a problem. Consumption of rosemary extract containing acetone is Halal.[3]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Shakib Alam

Student - Darul Iftaa

Pennsylvania, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 

06-12-1441|02-07-2020

 

 

 


[1] http://www.fao.org/3/a-br565e.pd

 

[2] الهداية (ج4 ص194-203 دار الفرفور)

والثالث: أن عينها حرام غير معلول بالسكر ولا موقوف عليه: ومن الناس من أنكر حرمة عينها، وقال: إن السكر منها حرام؛ لأن به يحصل الفساد وهو الصد عن ذكر الله، وهذا كفر؛ لأنه جحود الكتاب فإنه تعالى سماه رجسا والرجس ما هو محرم العين، وقد جاءت السنة متواترة "أن النبي عليه الصلاة والسلام حرم الخمر"؛ وعليه انعقد الإجماع، ولأن قليله يدعو إلى كثيره وهذا من خواص الخمر، ولهذا تزداد لشاربه اللذة بالاستكثار منه، بخلاف سائر المطعومات ثم هو غير معلول عندنا حتى لا يتعدى حكمه إلى سائر المسكرات...

ونبيذ العسل والتين ونبيذ الحنطة والذرة والشعير حلال وإن لم يطبخ" وهذا عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله إذا كان من غير لهو وطرب لقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام: "الخمر من هاتين الشجرتين"، وأشار إلى الكرمة والنخلة خص التحريم بهما والمراد بيان الحكم، ثم قيل يشترط الطبخ فيه لإباحته، وقيل لا يشترط وهو المذكور في الكتاب؛ لأن قليله لا يدعو إلى كثيره كيفما كان وهل يحد في المتخذ من الحبوب إذا سكر منه؟ قيل لا يحد وقد ذكرنا الوجه من قبل. قالوا: والأصح أنه يحد، فإنه روي عن محمد فيمن سكر من الأشربة أنه يحد من غير تفصيل، وهذا؛ لأن الفساق يجتمعون عليه في زماننا اجتماعهم على سائر الأشربة، بل فوق ذلك، وكذلك المتخذ من الألبان إذا اشتد فهو على هذا وقيل: إن المتخذ من لبن الرماك لا يحل عند أبي حنيفة اعتبارا بلحمه؛ إذ هو متولد منه قالوا: والأصح أنه يحل؛ لأن كراهة لحمه لما في إباحته من قطع مادة الجهاد أو لاحترامه فلا يتعدى إلى لبنه.

 

المحيط البرهاني (ج19 ص123 مكتبة الرشد)

فنقول: ذكر محمد رحمه الله في الجامع الصغير " عقيب ذكر الخمر ونقيع الزبيب والسكر، وما سواها من الأشربة، فلا بأس به، وهذا الجواب على هذا البيان، والعموم لا يوجد في غير هذا الكتاب، وهذا نص أن ما يتخذ من الحنطة والشعير حلال لا يجب الحد به وإن سكر منه، وإذا طلق امرأته لا يقع، وهذا قول أبي حنيفة رحمه الله وعن محمد رحمه الله: أنه حرام يجب الحد بالسكر منه، وإذا طلق امرأته يقع الطلاق بمنزلة طلاق السكران، وكذلك نبيذ الشهد والفانيد

 

تحفة الفقهاء (ج4 ص445 دار الكتب العلمية)

أما الخمر فلها أحكام ستة الأول تحريم شرب قليلها وكثيرها ويحرم الانتفاع بها للتداوي وغيره لكن عند أبي حنيفة ما لم تسكن من الغليان يباح شربها وعندهما إذا صار مسكرا يحرم شربه وإن لم يسكن من الغليان قال عليه السلام حرمت الخمر لعينها قليلها وكثيرها والسكر من كل شراب.

 

بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع (ج6 ص471-475 دار الكتب العلمية)

(وأما) المعتق المسكر فيحل شربه للتداوي واستمراء الطعام والتقوي على الطاعة عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف - رضي الله عنهما - وروى محمد - رحمه الله - أنه لا يحل، وهو قول الشافعي - رحمه الله - وأجمعوا على أنه لا يحل شربه للهو والطرب كذا روى أبو يوسف - رحمه الله - في الأمالي وقال لو أراد أن يشرب المسكر فقليله وكثيره حرام وقعوده لذلك والمشي إليه حرام...

وأما المزر والجعة والبتع وما يتخذ من السكر والتين ونحو ذلك فيحل شربه عند أبي حنيفة - رضي الله عنه - قليلا كان أو كثيرا، مطبوخا كان أو نيئا، ولا يحد شاربه وإن سكر.

وروي عن محمد - رحمه الله - أنه حرام بناء على أصله، وهو أن ما أسكر كثيره فقليله حرام كالمثلث وقال أبو يوسف - رحمه الله -: ما كان من هذه الأشربة يبقى بعدما يبلغ عشرة أيام ولا يفسد فإني أكرهه، وكذا روي عن محمد، ثم رجع أبو يوسف عن ذلك إلى قول أبي حنيفة.

 

احسن الفتاوی (ج8 ص483)

مسکرات کی دو قسمیں ہے سیال اور جامد۔ سکال کی دو قسمیں ہیں 1-جن کی نجاست اور حرمت پر اتفاق ہے ... 2- وہ اشربہ جن میں اختلاف ہے یعنی اشربہ اربعہ مذکورہ کے سوا باقی تمام اشربہ۔ یہ شیخین رحمہ اللہ تعالیٰ کے ہاں طاہر ہے اور مقدار مسکر سے کم بلا لہو بعرض تداوی وغیرہ حلال ہے ...

 

فتاویٰ محمودیہ (ج27 ص216)

مجھے اسکی حقیقت معلوم نہیں، چار قسم کی شراب حرام ہے، اگر چہ اس کا ایک قطرہ ہو اور اس سے نشہ پیدا نہ ہوتا ہو اس کے علاوہ اگر نشہ آور ہو تو ممنوع ہے ورنہ نہیں، اس کلیہ کے تحت بیڑ کی تحقیق کر لی جائے، تمبا کو میں حدت ہوتی ہے کبھی یہ حدت نشہ تک پہنچ جاتی ہے تو اس پر ممنوع ہو نے کا حکم ہو تا ہے خواہ یہ نشہ اس کی حدت سے ہو یا اس میں اجزا ولانے پیدا ہو ۔

 

 

[3]  https://www.webmd.com/diet/what-is-acetone#1

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acetone#Production

 

 

Follow Mufti Ebrahim Desai’s official Twitter handle: @MuftiEbrahim

 

Latest Tweet:

 

‘Do not focus too much on empowering the brain & outward appearance. Focus on inculcating values in your heart.’

 

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.
The Messenger of Allah said, "When Allah wishes good for someone, He bestows upon him the understanding of Deen."
[Al-Bukhari and Muslim]