Category: Misc. Fiqh
Fatwa#: 40925
Asked Country: Kenya

Answered Date: Aug 30,2018

Title: Is soy sauce Halal?

Question

Assalamualaykum, is soya sauce halal? Or are there some which are halal and some haram? If possible could I know the ones that are halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Most soy sauces contain alcohol from wheat and soya beans.[1]

Alcohol made from sources other than dates and grapes are permissible only with the following conditions: [2]

  • It is not used as an intoxicant or to an amount which intoxicates
  • It is not used in vain (lahw).

In principle, if the alcohol in soy sauce is from wheat and soya beans, then it is permissible.

Furthermore, we cannot issue a blanket ruling on the Halal nature of soy sauce. 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Abdullah Syed Sajid

Student Darul Iftaa
Houston, TX, USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 


[1] https://www.thespruceeats.com/what-is-soy-sauce-1328450

Soy sauce is a brown, salty, liquid used as a condiment or seasoning in many Asian cuisines. Soy sauce is made from fermented soybeans, salt, water and sometimes roasted grains. 

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soy_sauce

الهداية شرح البداية (3/ 170) [2]

ونبيذ العسل والتين ونبيذ الحنطة والذرة والشعير حلال وإن لم يطبخ وهذا عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله إذا كان من غير لهو وطرب

 

بحوث في قضايا فقهية معاصرة (ص: 342)

لأن الأشربة المتخذة من غير العنب والتمر تحل عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف بقصد التقوي أو التداوي، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار وإن معظم الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية اليوم لا تصنع من عنب ولا تمر، وإنما تصنع من السلفات والكبريتات، والعسل، والدبس، والحب، والشعير، والجودار، وغيرها. فإن كانت الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية متخذة من غير العنب والتمر فإن تناولها جائز في مذهب أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار، ويمكن أن يؤخذ بقولهما لحاجة التداوي

 

شرح مختصر الطحاوي للجصاص (6/ 373)

وما عدا الخارج منهما من نبيذ العسل وغيره، لا يجئ منه خمر على الحقيقة بحال، فلذلك لم يعتبر فيه الطبخ، ولم يحد من سكر منه، وكان السكر منه كالسكر من الأدوية المسكرة، فلا توجب حدًا، ولا يكون قليلها محرمًا

 

الفتاوى الهندية (5/ 414)

وَأَمَّا الْأَشْرِبَةُ الْمُتَّخَذَةُ مِنْ الشَّعِيرِ أَوْ الذُّرَةِ أَوْ التُّفَّاحِ أَوْ الْعَسَلِ إذَا اشْتَدَّ، وَهُوَ مَطْبُوخٌ أَوْ غَيْرُ مَطْبُوخٍ فَإِنَّهُ يَجُوزُ شُرْبُهُ مَا دُونَ السَّكَرِ عِنْدَ أَبِي حَنِيفَةَ وَأَبِي يُوسُفَ - رَحِمَهُمَا اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - وَعِنْدَ مُحَمَّدٍ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - حَرَامٌ شُرْبُهُ قَالَ الْفَقِيهِ: وَبِهِ نَأْخُذُ كَذَا فِي الْخُلَاصَةِ فَإِنْ سَكِرَ مِنْ هَذِهِ الْأَشْرِبَةِ فَالسَّكَرُ وَالْقَدَحُ الْمُسْكِرُ حَرَامٌ بِالْإِجْمَاعِ وَاخْتَلَفُوا فِي وُجُوبِ الْحَدِّ إذَا سَكِرَ قَالَ الْفَقِيهِ أَبُو جَعْفَرٍ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى -: لَا يُحَدُّ فِيمَا لَيْسَ مِنْ أَصْلِ الْخَمْرِ، وَهُوَ التَّمْرُ وَالْعِنَبُ كَمَا لَا يُحَدُّ مِنْ الْبَنْجِ وَلَبَنِ الرِّمَاكِ، وَهَكَذَا ذَكَرَ شَمْسُ الْأَئِمَّةِ السَّرَخْسِيُّ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ تَعَالَى - وَقَالَ بَعْضُهُمْ: يُحَدُّ، وَقِيلَ: هُوَ قَوْلُ الْحَسَنِ بْنِ زِيَادٍ كَذَا فِي فَتَاوَى قَاضِي خَانْ

 

احسن الفتاوی (جلد 8/ ص 489)

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.