Category: Food and Nourishment
Fatwa#: 39627
Asked Country: France

Answered Date: Feb 18,2018

Title: Is it wrong if I ask if the food of my host is Halal and can I consume meat slaughtered by the Ahlul Kitaab?

Question

Assalamu 'alaykum,

 

1- with reference to fatwa #35529, if I live in a locality where both machin-cut chickens and halal-cut chickens are found, and I am invited by another muslim family which I did not know (for example for marriage or business), isn't it wrong/impolite for me to doubt the halal-ness of his dishes and enquire about it? Asking the question would be insulting whereas I thought by default we should not be suspicious of any lay muslims (it was written in some arabic references at the bottom).

 

2- In countries like Portugal, people until today cut chicken's throats themselves, go to churches and seem praticising. If the matter is like this, can I eat in any outlet there since they're from ahl-ul-kitaab (even though some may import the chicken from abroad), or do I have to ask systematically how they slaughtered it ?

 

In both scenarios brothers following hanbali fiqh usually eat with no hesitation. Please elaborate.


Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Shari'ah has emphasised on consuming only Halal. In the Quran Kareem, Allah Ta'āla instructs the believers to eat the meat of those animals that are slaughtered in His name. Allah Ta'āla says:

 

فَكُلُوا مِمَّا ذُكِرَ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ إِنْ كُنْتُمْ بِآيَاتِهِ مُؤْمِنِينَ[1]

Translation

“So eat (the flesh) of that (animal) upon which the name of Allah has been invoked (when slaughtering), if you do believe in his verses.” (An’aam:118)

In order to emphasise this injunction, Allah Ta'āla instructs the believers not to eat the meat of those animals upon which His name has not been mentioned at the time of slaughter. Allah Ta'āla says:

 

وَلَا تَأْكُلُوا مِمَّا لَمْ يُذْكَرِ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ وَإِنَّهُ لَفِسْقٌ[2]

Translation

“Do not eat (meat) over which the name of Allah has not been pronounced. This is surely a sin.” (An’aam: 121)

It is clear from the expression of both verses that Allah Ta'āla has emphasised eating Halal and prohibited us from eating Haram.

If one is residing in a locality where Halal chickens and machine-cut chickens are available and the general population are not cautious about the laws of Halal or Haram, it is compulsory to determine whether the chicken is Halal or not. In such a situation, the focus should be on upholding the order of Allah Ta'āla to consume only Halal and abstain from Haram. If people are negligent on Halal and Haram, it may well be that one does not determine the meat being Halal and he may consume Haram and violate the law of Allah Ta'āla.

It is incorrect to direct ones focus on the following Ahadith:

 

إيَّاكم والظَّنَّ، فإنَّ الظَّنَّ أكذَبُ الحديث[3]

“Beware of suspicion, for it is the falsest of all reports.” (Abu Dawood: 4917)

The Hadith in reference is in the context of people exercising caution in Halal and abstaining from Haram and they slaughter the chickens according to the Shari'ah laws of dhabah (slaughter). In that instance, there is no reason to doubt the halalness of the chickens. If one is invited and he is sure that the host exercises precaution in Halal, abstains from Haram and he is well versed in the issues of Halal and Haram, one should consider the chicken of that person as Halal.[4]

However, if there is widespread negligence in Halal and Haram, it is incorrect to practise on the Hadith whilst the law of Allah is being violated. Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) will never advise us to have good thoughts of people whilst the law of Allah Ta'āla is being violated.

The slaughtered animals of the People of the Book, the Jews and Christians, are permissible to eat as long as they take the name of Allah Ta'āla when slaughtering. How can an animal slaughtered by a Jew or Christian without having taken the name of Allah Ta'āla be permissible for a Muslim when Allah Ta'āla clearly states in the Quran Kareem:

وَلَا تَأْكُلُوا مِمَّا لَمْ يُذْكَرِ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ وَإِنَّهُ لَفِسْقٌ[5]

“Do not eat (meat) over which the name of Allah has not been pronounced. This is surely a sin.” (An’aam: 121)

 

The Jews and Christians practising on their religion is not sufficient for their slaughtered animals to be Halal. The conditions prescribed for the animal to be Halal for Muslims also apply to animals slaughtered by the People of the Book.[6] Christians do not invoke the name of Allah Ta'āla when slaughtering animals.[7] How can a believer tolerate consuming chickens created by Allah Ta'āla whilst the name of Allah Ta'āla has not been pronounced on them? Our Imaan driven conscience would never allow us to consume such chickens. In fact, we should resent eating such chickens and that is apart from such chickens being Haram.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mizanur Rahman

Student, Darul Iftaa

UK

 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.



[1] القرآن الكريم [الأنعام: 118]

{فَكُلُوا مِمَّا ذُكِرَ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ إِنْ كُنْتُمْ بِآيَاتِهِ مُؤْمِنِينَ}

 

[2]  القرآن الكريم [الأنعام: 121]

{وَلَا تَأْكُلُوا مِمَّا لَمْ يُذْكَرِ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ وَإِنَّهُ لَفِسْقٌ}

 

[3] سنن أبي داود ت الأرنؤوط، أبو داود سليمان بن الأشعث الأزدي السِّجِسْتاني (المتوفى: 275هـ)، دار الرسالة العالمية، بيروت، لبنان (7/ 277)

حدثنا عبد الله بن مسلمة، عن مالك، عن أبي الزناد، عن الأعرج

عن أبي هريرة، أن رسول الله -صلى الله عليه وسلم - قال: "إياكم والظن، فإن الظن أكذب الحديث، ولا تحسسوا, ولا تجسسوا"

 

[4] بحوث في قضايا فقهية معاصرة، مفتي محمد تقي عثماني، دار القلم، دمشق، سوريا، سنة: 2013 (1/387)

ومفاده أن المسلم إن قدم لحما أو طعاما، فالظاهر أنه حلال مذبوح بطريقة مشروعة، فيحمل على الظاهر، ونحن مأمورون بإحسان الظن بكل مسلم، فلا يجب البحث عن طريقة ذبحه، ما لم يتبين أنه ذبحه بطريقة غير مشروعة. وإن هؤلاء القوم الذين وقع السؤال عنهم كانوا مسلمين، وإن كانوا حديثي عهد بالكفر، كما صرحت به عائشة، فأمر رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم بحمل فعلهم على الظاهر، وهو أنهم ذكروا اسم الله عليه،

 

الفتاوى الهندية المسماة بالفتاوى عالمكيرية، الشيخ نظام الدين البرهانفوري وجماعة من علماء الهند الأعلام، مكتبة رشيدية،كوئته، باكستان (5/ 343)

 لا يجيب دعوة الفاسق المعلن ليعلم أنه غير راض بفسقه وكذا دعوة من كان غالب ماله من حرام ما لم يخبر أنه حلال وبالعكس يجيب ما لم يتبين عنده أنه حرام كذا في التمرتاشي

 

 

[5]  القرآن الكريم [الأنعام: 121]

{وَلَا تَأْكُلُوا مِمَّا لَمْ يُذْكَرِ اسْمُ اللَّهِ عَلَيْهِ وَإِنَّهُ لَفِسْقٌ}

 

[6] بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع، علاء الدين أبو بكر بن مسعود بن أحمد الكاساني (المتوفى: 587هـ)، دار الكتب العلمية، بيروت، لبنان، الطبعة الثالثة: 2010م (6/229)

ثم إنما تؤكل ذبيحة الكتابي إذا لم يشهد ذبحه ولم يسمع منه شيء أو سمع وشهد منه تسمية الله تعالى وحده؛ لأنه إذا لم يسمع منه شيئا يحمل على أنه قد سمى الله تبارك وتعالى وجرد التسمية تحسينا للظن به كما بالمسلم، ولو سمع منه ذكر اسم الله تعالى لكنه عنى بالله عز وجل المسيح - عليه الصلاة والسلام - قالوا: تؤكل؛ لأنه أظهر تسمية هي تسمية المسلمين إلا إذا نص فقال: بسم الله الذي هو ثالث ثلاثة فلا تحل. وقد روي عن سيدنا علي - رضي الله عنه - أنه سئل عن ذبائح أهل الكتاب وهم يقولون ما يقولون فقال: - رضي الله عنه - قد أحل الله ذبائحهم وهو يعلم ما يقولون، فأما إذا سمع منه أنه سمى المسيح - عليه الصلاة والسلام - وحده أو سمى الله سبحانه وتعالى وسمى المسيح لا تؤكل ذبيحته كذا روى سيدنا علي - رضي الله عنه - ولم يرو عن غيره خلافه فيكون إجماعا،

 

في نفس المكان (6/201)

قال الله تبارك وتعالى {يسألونك ماذا أحل لهم قل أحل لكم الطيبات} [المائدة: 4] ، وقال سبحانه وتعالى {ويحل لهم الطيبات ويحرم عليهم الخبائث} [الأعراف: 157] ولا يطيب إلا بخروج الدم المسفوح وذلك بالذبح والنحر ولهذا حرمت الميتة؛ لأن المحرم وهو الدم المسفوح فيها قائم ولذا لا يطيب مع قيامه ولهذا يفسد في أدنى مدة ما يفسد في مثلها المذبوح، وكذا المنخنقة والموقوذة والمتردية والنطيحة لما قلنا.

 

في نفس المكان (6/205)

ثم الأوداج أربعة: الحلقوم، والمريء، والعرقان اللذان بينهما الحلقوم والمريء، فإذا فرى ذلك كله فقد أتى بالذكاة بكمالها وسننها وإن فرى البعض دون البعض فعند أبي حنيفة - رضي الله عنه - إذا قطع أكثر الأوداج وهو ثلاثة منها أي ثلاثة كانت وترك واحدا يحل،

 

في نفس المكان (6/197)

وأما بيان شرط حل الأكل في الحيوان المأكول فشرط حل الأكل في الحيوان المأكول البري هو الذكاة فلا يحل أكله بدونها؛ لقوله تبارك وتعالى {حرمت عليكم الميتة والدم} [المائدة: 3] إلى قوله عز شأنه {وما أكل السبع إلا ما ذكيتم} [المائدة: 3] استثنى سبحانه وتعالى الذكي من المحرم والاستثناء من التحريم إباحة.

 

[7] بحوث في قضايا فقهية معاصرة، مفتي محمد تقي عثماني، دار القلم، دمشق، سوريا، سنة: 2013 (1/431)

إن النصارى اليوم خلعوا ربقة التكليف في قضية الذبح، وتركوا أحكام دينهم، فلا يلتزمون بالطرق المشروعة، فلا تحل ذبائحهم اليوم إلا إذا ثبت في لحم بعينه أنه ذكاه نصراني بالطريق المشروع, فلا يحل اللحم الذي يباع في أسواقهم ولا يعرف ذابحه.

 

Jillian Williams (2017). Food and Religious Identities in Spain. Oxford: Routledge. p. 38

Quora. 2017. What is the process of animal slaughter in Christianity compared to kosher in Judaism and halal in Islam?. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-process-of-animal-slaughter-in-Christianity-compared-to-kosher-in-Judaism-and-halal-in-Islam. [Accessed 13 February 2018].

 

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.