Category: Jurisprudence and Rulings (Fiqh)
Fatwa#: 39617
Asked Country: Netherlands

Answered Date: Feb 07,2018

Title: Grapeseed Extract



I recently bought viridian high five multivitamin and mineral formula. The brand is vegetarian and the ingredient list can be found here:

After buying the container, I was doing some research on it and came across a link that listed it as vegan and kosher but not halal (I don't know how authorative that information is, but I'm pasting the link here: , which was confusing to me. I went through the ingredient list and the only doubtful ingredient I could find was grapeseed extract. I want to know is grapeseed extract halal to consume? I googled this and found conflicting answers. 




In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Grape seed extract (GSE) is an industrial derivative of whole grape seeds. Accordingly, it is permissible to consume the Vitamin in reference.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.



DISCLAIMER - questions answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.