Category: Food and Nourishment
Fatwa#: 37335
Asked Country: Canada

Answered Date: Feb 01,2017

Title: Can you please tell me if Erythritol is halal?

Question

Assalamualaikum, 

I would really like your help. Can you please tell me if Erythritol is halal? Its some sort of sugar alcohol derived from plants according to my research. JazakAllah for your time and efforts, may Allah bless you.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Erythritol is a sugar alcohol produced in the industry through the fermentation of glucose that is derived from starch. The starch is extracted from corn/maize.[1]

Ethytriol is widely used as a sweetener and is considered to be a healthy alternative to normal sugar.[2][3]

Considering that it is not derived from grapes or dates, it is permissible to consume Ethytriol.[4]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best 

Mu’ādh Chati                                                        

Student Darul Iftaa
Blackburn, England, UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 

 



[1] The Darul Iftaa has received queries on the above-related and similar rulings with objections from the Chemistry point-of-view. We have thus provided a chemical breakdown of the technical components involved in deducing this ruling.

 

Mufti Ebrahim Desai Sahib (Hafidhahullah)

 

Erythritol is made by:

 

1-    First extracting starch from corn/maize

 

 

2-    After the starch is extracted, Glucose is extracted from the starch.

 

Starch is made up of Maltose, a disaccharide which may be broken down to produce glucose. Maltose is broken down using Hydrolysis which breaks the glycosidic bond.

 

A diagram:

 

 

If the diagram cannot be seen, see: https://www.scribd.com/doc/299729028/AQA-A-level-Biology-Unit-1-Notes (page 1)

 

3-    After the Glucose is extracted, we may make alcohol

 

There are two main methods of making an alcohol:

 

1)    The ‘industrial’ method

2)    Fermentation

 

A comparison between the Industrial preparation of Alcohol and Fermentation 

 

Fermentation

Industrial Method

Raw Material

Glucose

Ethene

Renewable

Yes

No

Other Requirements

Yeast & Water

Water & Phosphoric Acid catalyst

Temperature

37oC

High Temperature, but Low Pressure

Level of Technology

Low

High

Rate of Production

Slow

Very Fast

Purity

Very impure

Very pure

Purification Process

Distillation – V.Expensive

Not needed

 

Fermentation is usually, not always, avoided in the industry is does not yield a pure product and takes a significant amount of time.

 

A Deeper Understanding of the Industrial Method

 

It may involve one of five methods:

 

1-    Hydration of Alkene to Alcohol using H3PO4 as a catalyst

2-    Hydrolysis of Esters using H2O in a process known as Nucleophilic Addition Elimination

3-    Reduction of Hydroxynitriles using H2 or Pd as a catalyst

4-    Nucleophilic Substitution of Haloalkanes using Aqueous Sodium or Potassium Hydroxide

5-    Nucleophilic Addition of Aldehydes or Ketones using NaBH4

 

A diagram:

 

 

If the diagram cannot be seen, see: https://www.scribd.com/doc/299729071/Organic-Chemistry

 

Fermentation:

 

Definition:

 

The chemical breakdown of a substance by bacteria, yeasts, or other microorganisms, typically involving effervescence and the giving off of heat.

 

Starting materials:

1)    Yeast

2)    Sugar

1)    Water

2)    37oC

 

Essential Conditions:

 

1)    Yeast

2)    30oC ≥ T ≤ 42oC

3)    No Air

 

It is an Oxidation reaction as respiration is Anaerobic.

 

Products

 

Fermentation will produce the Alcohol and Carbon Dioxide.

 

The Chemical processes taking place during Fermentation:

 

Glycolysis takes place, which produces Pyruvate.

 

A diagram:

 

 

 

If the diagram cannot be seen, see: https://www.scribd.com/doc/299729043/AQA-A-level-Biology-Unit-4-Notes (page 15)

 

After Glycolysis has produced Pyruvate, yeast, being a fungi, converts Pyruvate into the Alcohol and Carbon Dioxide. The production of the Alcohol will increase as oxygen decreases but will eventually stop when the Glucose runs out. The conversion of Pyruvate to the Alcohol is assisted by the reduction of Pyruvate using NADH, thus reproducing NAD+ and allowing the cycle to continue.

 

[4] وأما ما عدا الخارج من النخل والكرم من الأنبذة فإن أبا حنيفة رحمه الله يبيحه بغير طبخ لأن النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم قصر حكم التحريم على الخارج منهما بقوله صلى الله عليه وسلم "الخمر من هاتين الشجرتين" فاحتاج الخارج منهما إلى طبخ ينقلهما عن الحال التي كانا عليه والنار قد تغير العصير والدبس حتى تحيله إلى الناطف والبختج وغيرهما منة الأشياء التي يستحيل أن تكون خمرا بعد مصيرها إليها

شرح مختصر الطحاوي للجصاص ت370ه (373/6) دار البشائر الإسلامية 

 

وأما في سائر الأنبذة ففي ظاهر الجواب لا بأس بالشرب منه مطبوخا كان أو غير مطبوخ...وجه ظاهر الرواية أن العسل والذرة والشعير حلال التناول متغيرا كان أو غير متغير فكذلك ما يتخذ منها من الأشربة لأن هذا في معنى الطعام والتغير في الطعام لا يؤثر في الحرمة فكذلك نفس الشدة لا توجب الحرمة

المبسوط للسرخسي ت483ه (17-18/24) دار النوادر

 

قال ونبيذ العسل والتين ونبيذ الحنطة والذرة والشعير حلال وإن لم يطبخ وهذا عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله إذا كان من غير لهو وطرب لقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام "الخمر من هاتين الشجرتين" وأشار إلى الكرمة والنخلة خص التحريم بهما والمراد بيان الحكم ثم قيل يشترط الطبخ فيه لإباحته وقيل لا يشترط وهو المذكور في الكتاب

الهداية شرح بداية المبتدي للمرغيناني ت593ه (115/15) نسخة "البناية شرح الهداية" المكتبة الحقانية 

 

الفصل الثالث فيما يتخذ من الحبوب نحو الحنطة والذرة والشعير والإجاص والفرصاد والشهد والفانيد وغير ذلك فنقول ذكر محمد رحمه الله في "الجامع الصغير" عقيب ذكر الخمر ونقيع الزبيب والسكر وما سواها من الأشربة فلا بأس به وهذا الجواب على هذا البيان والعموم لا يوجد في غير هذا الكتاب وهذا نص أن ما يتخذ من الحنطة والشعير حلال لا يجب الحد وإن سكر منه وإذا طلق امرأته لا يقع وهذا قول أبي حنيفة رحمه الله

وعن محمد رحمه الله أنه حرام يجب الحد بالسكر منه وإذا طل امرأته يقع الطلاق بمنزلة طلاق السكران وكذلك نبيذ الشهد والفانيد ولا خلاف أنه ما دام حلوا يحل شربه فأما إذا غلى واشتد فإن كان مطبوخا أدنى طبخة  يحل شربه على قول أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله....وإن لم يكن مطبوخا وقد غلى واشتد فعن أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله روايتان: ذكر في كتاب الأشربة في موضع أن الطبخ شرط ووجهه القياس على نقيع الزبيب أو التمر ولم يشترط الطبخ في موضع آخر وهو الأظهر  

المحيط البرهاني لبرهان الدين البخاري ت616ه (124/19) إدارة القرآن

 

والمزر وهو من الذرة... ولهما ما روينا من إطلاق الانتباذ على الانفراد والخليط؛ ولأن المسكر هو القدح الأخير حقيقة فيحمل عليه إذ الحكم يضاف إلى الوصف الأخير من علة ذات أوجه فتقتصر الحرمة عليه

تبيين الحقائق للزيلعي ت743ه (47/6) مكتبة إمدادية 

 

السوال: ما قولکم ایہا العلماء رحمکم اللہ تعالی فی ہذہ المسئلۃ – کہ یہ جو اسپرٹ برقی چولہے میں استعمال کیا جاتا ہے مشہور ہے کہ اس میں شراب کر ساتھ اور چیز بھی ملی ہوتی ہے – ضرورت کے مقام پر سہولت کی غرض سے اس کو استعمال کرتے ہیں- حسب شرع کوئی ناجائز عمل تو نہیں بینو توجروا –

جواب: یہ اسپرٹ جو چولہے میں جلائی جاتی ہے گھٹیا قسم کی ہے –جو خمور اربعہ کی روح ہر گز نہیں ان کے سوا کسی اور معمولی خمر کی روح ہوگی اور اس وقت عموم ابتلاء کی وجہ سے گھٹیا اسپرٹ کے استعمال کی اجازت پر فتوی دیا جاتا ہے – کیونکہ رنگ اور پڑیا بہت سی اشیاء میں اس کی آمیزش ہے –جس سے احتراز  دشوار ہے – جب ابتلاء عام کی وجہ سے گھٹیا اسپرت کو مباح الاستعمال قرار دیا گیا تو ہر جگہ اس کے لئے حکم حلت واباحت وطہارت کا ہوگا –

الشیء اذا ثبت ثبت بلوازمہ

البتہ بلا ضرورت استعمال سے جہاں تک ہوسکے بچنا اولی وافضل ہے – پس اگر چولہے کی اسپرٹ میں شبہ اسپرٹ ہی کی وجہ سے تھا تو اس کا جواب تو ہوگیا اور اگر دوسری شیء کی وجہ سے شبہ ہے تو جب تک دوسری شیء کی حقیقت واضح نہ کی جاوے اس وقت تک جواب نہیں ہوسکتا  -

امداد الاحکام (507-508/4) مکتبہ دار العلوم کراچی

 

الکحل والے مشروبات وماکولات کا حکم

سوال:ہمارے ملک میں کوکا کولا، فانتا اور ان کے مانند دیگر مشروبات  شائع ع ذائع ہیں اور کثرت سے مستعمل  ہیں،بنانے والے کار خانہ سے تحقیق سے معلوم ہوا کہ ان مشروبات وغیرھا میں الکحل ڈال جاتا ہے، اس الکحل کے بعض اقسام عصیرالعنب سے تیار ہوتے ہیںاور بعض اقسام آلو،کوئلہ اور گیہوں وغیرہ سے بنتے ہیں، ایک بوتل میں تقریبا ایک آدھ قطرہ ا لکحل موجود ہوتا ہے اور ظاہر ہے کہ اس قسم کی مشروبات محض تنعم و تلذذ کے طور پر پی جاتی ہیں-،،،،،،،نیز آج کل دواؤں میں الکحل ڈالا جاتا ہے، خصوصا  ہومیوپیثھک کی کوئی دوا ہی شاید اس سے خالی ہو، ان دواؤں کا استعمال جائز ہے یا نہیں؟

الجواب:

تحقیق  سے  ثابت  ہوا  کہ  اشربہ  وادویہ  میں  عصیر  العنب  یا  عصیر  الرطب  نہیں  ڈالا  جاتا،  دوسرے  اشربہ  ک ے  حکم  کی  تفصیل  یہ  ہے:

قال العلامة الشلبي (قوله فيما اذا قصد به التقوي) علي طاعة الله او استمراء الطعام او التداوي فاما المسكر منه حرام بالاجماع اه اتقاني(حاشية علي التبيين ص47 ج 6)

وقال العلامة ابن عابدين: (قوله بلا لهو وطرب) قال في المختار: الطرب خفة تصيب الإنسان لشدة حزن أو سرور اهـ. قال في الدرر. وهذا التقييد غير مختص بهذه الأشربة بل إذا شرب الماء وغيره من المباحات بلهو وطرب على هيئة الفسقة حرام اهـ ط (رد المحتار ص291 ج 5)

وقال العلامة الحصكفي: (و) الرابع (المثلث) العنبي وإن اشتد، وهو ما طبخ من ماء العنب حتى يذهب ثلثاه ويبقى ثلثه إذا قصد به استمراء الطعام والتداوي والتقوي على طاعة الله تعالى، ولو للهو لا يحل إجماعا حقائق (رد المحتار ص292 ج 5)

وقال في الهندية: ( وَأَمَّا مَا هُوَ حَلَالٌ عِنْدَ عَامَّةِ الْعُلَمَاءِ ) فَهُوَ الطِّلَاءُ ، وَهُوَ الْمُثَلَّثُ وَنَبِيذُ التَّمْرِ وَالزَّبِيبُ فَهُوَ حَلَالٌ شُرْبُهُ مَا دُونَ السَّكَرِ لِاسْتِمْرَاءِ الطَّعَامِ وَالتَّدَاوِي وَلِلتَّقْوَى عَلَى طَاعَةِ اللَّهِ - تَعَالَى - لَا لِلتَّلَهِّي وَالْمُسْكِرُ مِنْهُ حَرَامٌ ، وَهُوَ الْقَدْرُ الَّذِي يُسْكِرُ ، وَهُوَ قَوْلُ الْعَامَّةِ ( عالمگیریه ص412 ج 5)

وقال العلامة اللكهنوي: قلت اللهو و الطرب نوعان منهما مباح اذا كان خاليا عن معني المعصية ومقدماتها ونوع منها مكروهة اذا خلط بالمعصية او مقدماتها او تكون وسيلة اليها وهذا هو المراد بقوله اللهو والطرب دون الاول(عمدة الرعاية حاشية شرح الوقاية ص 66 ج 4 )

عبارات بالا سے امور ذیل ثابت ہوئے:

1ـ غیر خمیر کا استعمال حد سکر سے کم تقوی واستمراء طعام کے لئے جائز ہے،زمان حاضر میں معدہ کی خرابی اور سوء ہضم کا مرض عام ہے،اس لئے مصلح معدہ و ہاضم اشیاء لوازم طعام میں داخل ہو گئی ہیں-

2-نشاط وطرب کے لئے اکل و شراب مطلقا ممنوع نہیں بلکہ علی  طریق الفساق ممانعت ہے اور اس میں کسی خاص ماکول و مشروب کی تخصیص نہیں،بلکہ سب ماکولات و مشروبات کا یہی حکم ہے-

3-ہر لہو وطرب حرام نہیں، بلکہ اس میں کسی حرام فعل  کا ارتکاب  ہو یا مفضی الی الحرام ہو تو نا جائز ہے-نمبر 2 اور نمبر 3 کا حاصل تقریبا ایک ہی ہے-

اس تفصیل سے ثابت ہوا کہ سوال میں مذ کورہ اشیاء کا کھانا پینا حلال ہے-

علاوہ ازین  عموما ایسے ماکولات و مشروبات میں الکحل تعفن سے حفاظت کی غرض سے ڈالا  جاتا ہے اس لئے استعمال بوجہ ضرورت میں داخل ہے، تلہی میں نہیں –

احسن الفتاوی  (4/488) ايج ايم سعيد

 

Interestingly, Mufti Taqi Uthmani Sb has taken a different stance in his Fiqhul Buyu’, he has not moved to Shaykhayn’s view (p.298 v.1):

 

أما المأكولات أو المشروبات التي تشتمل على الكحول فإن حكمها على قول الإمام أبي حنيفة رحمه الله تعالى إنها لا تحرم إن لم تبلغ حد الإسكار وقد أفتى المتأخرون من الحنفية بقول الإمام محمد رحمه الله تعالى على مذهب الجمهور أن ما أسكر كثيره فقليله حرام ولكن هذه الفتوى محلها التناول مباشرة أما إذا خلطت الكحول بمادة أخرى فإن استحالت فيها الكحول يحل تناولها ولكن يجب أن تكون الإستحالة بانقلاب ماهية الكحول وإن مجرد تغير الأوصاف ليس في معنى الإستحالة

فقه البيوع لمفتي تقي (298/1) مكتبة معارف القرآن

 

 

 

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.