I am traveling to Peru and wanted to know if coca tea, a local drink, is halal: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coca_tea ?
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuhu
We understand that the coca tea is made from the raw leaves of the coca plant native to South America. The plant contains certain elements of coca alkaloids which serve as a base for the illegal cocaine drug. The plant and derivatives thereof are banned in the USA and other countries due to the harmful effects. We are not sure if the cocoa tea intoxicants. We advise you to abstain from cocoa tea.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Checked and Approved,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.