Category: Misc. Fiqh
Fatwa#: 30992
Asked Country: United Kingdom

Answered Date: Dec 18,2018

Title: Suitable for vegetarian does not necessarily mean halaal



I want to ask a question regarding food ingredients.

As many of the items I buy from the supermarkets have e-numbers in the ingredients, such as croissants, crisps ( like wotsists, walkers), chocolates, fizzy drinks ( pepsi, rubicon), sweets etc..

Is it necessary to check every single e-number or ingredient on the list of ingredients, or is it permissble to buy the item if the ' suitable for vegetarian' sign is on the item packet or drink. 

I would appreciate your answer on this matter.



In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

Brother in Islaam,

It is of utmost importance that one ensures his food is halaal. One jeopardizes the acceptance of his prayers by eating something doubtful or haraam.

Nevertheless, something that is suitable for vegetarians is not necessarily halaal. There are many ingredients that are haraam but suitable for vegetarians. Accordingly, you should check every ingredient in a food item prior to consuming it.


And Allaah Ta’aala Knows Best.

Muajul I. Chowdhury

Student, Darul Iftaa

Astoria, New York, USA


Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.


DISCLAIMER - questions answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.