Fatwa: # 30772
Category: Food and Nourishment
Country: Pakistan
Date: 4th October 2014


Is vanilla essence and wine vinegar Halal?



1. Can you please tell if vanilla essence is halaal? The local products available in our country (Pakistan) do not mention the ingredients and they do not have a formal communication system to get that checked either. Is it permissible to use such vanilla essence?

2. Is wine vinegar halaal?


In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

1) Vanilla essence is usually a synthetic (ie chemically produced) vanilla flavouring and is cheaper than the natural vanilla extract.[1]

Vanilla extract is a solution containing the flavour compound vanillin as the primary ingredient. Pure vanilla extract is made by macerating and percolating vanilla beans in a solution of ethyl alcohol and water. Although 35% is the standard alcohol requirement, premium vanilla extracts often contain a higher percentage of alcohol in order to extract more vanilla flavor from the beans. [2]

Vanilla essence and extract which contains alcohol, is used as an additive in foodstuffs. It will be halaal to consume such foodstuffs that contain the extract on condition the alcohol in producing the vanilla extract is not made from grapes or dates.[3]

2) Vinegar originates from wine. It goes through a chemical process whereby it transforms into vinegar.  As a result, all the elements which render alcohol Haram are removed.[4]

Therefore, white wine vinegar and red wine vinegar are Halaal for consumption.[5]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Arshad Ali

Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.



[2] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanilla_extract

In the United States, in order for a vanilla extract to be called pure, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires that the solution contains a minimum 35% of alcohol and 100g of vanilla beans per litre (13.35 ounces per gallon).[1] Double and triple strength (up to 20-fold) vanilla extracts are available.


[3]   Takmila Fath al-Mulhim (3/338

القسم الثالث: الأشربة المسكرة الأخرى ، غير الأقسام الأربعة المذكورة ، مثل التمر أو الزبيب المطبوخ أدنى طبخة ، أو عصير العنب المطبوخ الذى ذهب ثلثاه ، وكذلك نبيذ العسل ، والحنطة ، والشعير ، الحبوب الأخرى . وحكم هذا القسم عند أبى حنيفة وأبى يوسف ، رحمهما الله ، أنه لا يحرم منه شرب القليل الذى لا يسكر ، وإنما يحرم منه القدر المسكر.


وبهذا يتبين حكم الكحول المسكرة التى عمت بها البلوى اليوم ، فإنها تستعمل فى كثير من الأدوية والعطور ، والمركبات الأجرى ، فإنها إن اتخذت من العنب أو التمر فلا سبيل إلى حلتها أو طهارتها ، وإن اتخذت من غيرهما فالأمر فيها سهل على مذهب أبى حنيفة رحمه الله تعالى ، ولا يحرم استعمالها للتداوى أو لأغراض مباحة أخرى ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار ، لأنها إنما تستعمل مركبة مع المواد الأخرى ، ولا يحكم بنجاستها أخذا بقول أبى حنيفة رحمه الله . وأن معظم الكحول التى تستعمل اليوم فى الأدوية والعطور وغيرها لا تتخذ من العنب أو التمر ، إنما تتخذ من الحبوب أو القشور أو البترول وغيره ، كما ذكرنا فى باب بيع الخمر من كتاب البيوع ، وحينئذ هناك فسحة فى الأخذ بقول أبى حنيفة عند عموم البلوى ، والله سبحانة أعلم

[5]  الاختيار ج 4 ص 101-102 دار الكتب

قَالَ: (وَخَلُّ الْخَمْرِ حَلَالٌ سَوَاءٌ تَخَلَّلَتْ أَوْ خُلِّلَتْ) لِقَوْلِهِ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «نِعْمَ الْأُدُمُ الْخَلُّ» مُطْلَقًا، وَقَالَ – صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ -: «خَيْرُ خَلِّكُمً خَلُّ خَمْرِكُمْ» وَلِأَنَّ التَّخْلِيلَ يُزِيلُ الْوَصْفَ الْمُفْسِدَ وَيُثْبِتُ وَصْفَ الصَّلَاحِيَّةِ لِأَنَّ فِيهِ مَصْلَحَةَ قَمْعِ الصَّفْرَاءِ وَالتَّغَدِّي وَمَصَالِحَ كَثِيرَةً، وَإِذَا زَالَ الْمُفْسِدُ الْمُوجِبُ لِلْحُرْمَةِ حَلَّتْ كَمَا إِذَا تَخَلَّلَتْ بِنَفْسِهَا





DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.
The Messenger of Allah said, "When Allah wishes good for someone, He bestows upon him the understanding of Deen."
[Al-Bukhari and Muslim]