Is vanilla extract halal for consumption when used in other food products e.g. chocolate or other foods.
Is vanilla flavoured foods e.g. yoghurt, drinks, ice cream halal because I have heard vanilla is extracted using alcohol?
Jazakallah for your time
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
There are different types of vanilla extracts and vanilla flavored foods including the processing structures such as cold processing, etc. Therefore, we cannot issue a general ruling on the permissibility or impermissibility of Vanilla extracts.
In order for us to issue a ruling, kindly specify the specific type of Vanilla Extract/vanilla flavored food and the manufacturing company you are referring to.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Student Darul Iftaa
Durban, South Africa
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.