I want to know weather its halal to consume mayonaise and butter?
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.
An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.