Category: Food & Drink
Fatwa#: 22425
Asked Country: India

Answered Date: Sep 20,2012

Title: Is Ajinomoto Halaal or Haraam?

Question

Whether ajinomoto is halal 0r Haram?

Answer

 

 

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.

 

Ajinomoto is a Japanese food and chemical corporation whose signature product is MSG (monosodium glutamate; the sodium salt of glutamic acid). It is also the world’s largest manufacturer of aspartame (a sweetener) and also manufactures other products.

 

The MSG produced in South Africa has been approved by SANHA[1] and is subsequently halal and according to the website www.muslimconsumergroup.com, the MSG produced in the US is also halal as it is kosher certified.[2][3]

 

We do not know about the MSG in India. You should ask some local scholars to investigate the matter and to get in touch with the company and ask about their products.

 

If they do not contain anything haram such as pork based enzymes, it will be halal. You should also try to find out where the MSG is imported from in India. This may help determine whether it is Halal or not. Until further research is carried out, we advise that you abstain from consuming it.

 

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

 

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 



[3]Disclaimer: We do not know the details of the product; however, the muslimconsumergroup organization says the MSG produced in the US is halal.     

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.