Please inform me if we can consume soft shell capsules made of Bovine Gelatin.
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
It is not permissible to consume Bovine Gelatin.
However, if there is a genuine medical need and there is no other medical alternative, then it is permissible for one to consume capsules made out of Bovine Gelatine for medical purposes only.
This will have to be prescribed by a medical doctor.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Moulana Ismail Desai,
Student Darul Iftaa
Durban, South Africa
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.