Category: Food
Fatwa#: 19599
Asked Country: United States

Answered Date: Nov 16,2011

Title: Is soy lecithin halal?

Question

I had a question about the term soya lechiten if it haram or not?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Lecithins are oily substances that occur naturally in plants (soybeans) and animals (egg yolks).

Soy lecithin (E322) is extracted from soybeans either mechanically or chemically. It’s actually a byproduct of the soybean oil production.

Some people use it as a supplement because it’s high choline content. Choline is a micronutrient that is good for heart health and brain development.

But that’s not the reason soy lecithin is used as an additive in foods. It possesses emulsification properties. This means it can keep a candy bar “together” by making sure that the cocoa and the cocoa butter don’t separate. It is also used in bakery items to keep the dough from sticking and to improve its ability to rise.[i]

Therefore, if lecithin is from egg yolks or plant sources, it will be permissible.  The ruling on lecithin from animal sources would depend on which parts it is extracted from, as well as the manner of slaughter.

As soya lecithin is derived from soya, which is a vegetable source, so that will be permissible.[ii]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa

UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Husain Kadodia.
www.daruliftaa.net

 



[ii] وفي رد المحتار

( فيفهم منه حكم النبات ) وهو الإباحة على المختار ج 6 ص 460 أيج ايم سعيد

 

DISCLAIMER - AskImam.org questions
AskImam.org answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on www.askimam.org for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. Askimam.org bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • AskImam.org bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of AskImam.org.
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.