Category: Food and Nourishment
Fatwa#: 19123
Asked Country: Myanmar

Answered Date: Dec 30,2010

Title: Is vegetarian pork Halaal?


Is vegetarian pork halāl?  It is 100% animal free and made from soya.


In the Name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

The permissibility of a food product is based upon its content, not its name.  Hence, even though the name of the product is repugnant due to its containing the word “pork,” vegetarian pork is still permissible if it is completely free from any non-dhabīhah animal derived product. 


And Allāh knows best.

Muftī Abrar Mirza
Chicago, IL (USA)

Under the Supervision of Muftī Ebrahim Desai (South Africa)



DISCLAIMER - questions answers issues pertaining to Shar'ah. Thereafter, these questions and answers are placed for public view on for educational purposes. However, many of these answers are unique to a particular scenario and cannot be taken as a basis to establish a ruling in another situation or another environment. bears no responsibility with regards to these questions being used out of their intended context.
  • The Shar's ruling herein given is based specifically on the question posed and should be read in conjunction with the question.
  • bears no responsibility to any party who may or may not act on this answer and is being hereby exempted from loss or damage howsoever caused.
  • This answer may not be used as evidence in any Court of Law without prior written consent of
  • Any or all links provided in our emails, answers and articles are restricted to the specific material being cited. Such referencing should not be taken as an endorsement of other contents of that website.